The Moments That Make it All Worthwhile

I love being a teacher. It’s what I was created to do… but… it’s not an easy job. I’ve often described my emotions like this:

Teaching is hard. It’s difficult. A kid spends the morning crawling on the floor and another sneezes on me. 

BUT then a child brings me a “flower” at recess and compliments my hair and makes it all worthwhile. 

Then it’s hard. It’s difficult. I question what I’m doing. Meetings go long, kids talk during my lesson and cut up tiny pieces of paper all over the floor.

BUT then I receive a note that says “You r da best teacr,” and it makes it all worthwhile. 

Then it’s hard. It’s difficult. Students tattle all day, the SMARTboard stops working, and then 12 kids step on my toe.

BUT a student surprises me with a hug and accidentally calls me “Mommy.” It makes it all worthwhile. 

Having a calling doesn’t make your job easy, but it gives your job purpose. This calling, one to be a bright spot in a classroom of children’s lives every single day, is not an easy one, but it’s the one for me. ❤

Leave a Reply

