There is always a Ruth watching.

“But Ruth said, ‘Do not urge me to leave you or to return from following you. For where you go I will go, and where you lodge I will lodge. Your people shall be my people, and your God my God. Where you die I will die, and there will I be buried. May the Lord do so to me and more also if anything but death parts me from you.'”‭‭Ruth‬ ‭1:16-17‬ ‭ESV‬‬

I love the story of Ruth. I’ve read it so many times, and each time I do, the Lord shows me more. 

When I was single, God used Ruth to give me hope and patience to wait on His love story for me. I saw the pursuit of God after Ruth and rested in His embrace and served in obedience during a time of singleness. 

While Justin and I were engaged, I loved that I had met my very own Boaz. As we prepared for our wedding day, we loved the words of Ruth to her mother-in-law Naomi and incorperated them into our big day. On June 30th, 2013, two families become one. We made a vow to live and serve alongside one another. 

Now that we’re studying Boaz at church, I keep being drawn back to Chapter 1, verses 16-17, but in a new light. Ruth did not grow up in a home that worshipped God, but when she married Naomi’s husband, she saw that family’s faith. When she chose to stay with Naomi after her husband’s passing, she wasn’t just choosing Naomi, she was leaving her past behind and choosing God.

Naomi had a lot going on. Her husband died, so did her two sons, and she had two daughter-in-laws now abandoned and with no way to provide for them. In the midst of this, she had a Ruth watching. 

Ruth chose God. She chose to be a woman of character. She chose the romance God had in store for her. She chose these things because Naomi demonstrated them to her. 

We all have Ruths in our lives. People are watching, and we want them to be drawn to God because of their relationships with us.

Leave a Reply

