Missing Papa Tom 

I’ve been thinking about my Papa a lot today. Last Father’s Day was the last time I got to talk to Papa before he passed away. One of the last things he told me was, of course, words of encouragment. 

Justin had just stepped down on staff at the church we had been a part of, and we had no clue of our next step. We were being obedient, but really having to trust that God was going to reveal our “next” in His perfect timing. I thought Papa was resting, but as I was stressing out and telling Granny about all of the unknowns, I heard Papa say, “Honey, God will work things out. You do not have to worry.” 

I think what I admired most about Papa and the legacy he left behind was his ability to speak truth and show unwavering faith. I get caught up in the future, but Papa wasn’t. I am thankful that I got to know a man who lived out faith and taught his kids and grandkids to do the same. 

Leave a Reply

