Ice Cream Dates

One of my favorite ways to hang out with teens in the summer is to meet for ice cream! Today, three leaders, five teens, and a mom met for yummy treats and fun converstation. 

The longer I am in youth ministry, the more I am finding that leaders must spend some time with teens outside of sheduled church meetings. 

I had a youth leader, Kristal, that invited me to movie nights, over to her house for manicures, and to join her family on adventures regularly. It meant so much to me to feel important and valued to her. 

Ice cream dates aren’t that hard… who doesn’t like ice cream?! They are just one way to get to know others. What are some ways that you like to connect with people you are trying to mentor? 

Leave a Reply

