A Mary’s Heart Kind of Easter 

Holidays are busy. Especially if you are involved in a local church, the days leading up to a “biggie” like Easter can include festivals, community egg hunts, church set-up, hosting, meal planning… none of these things are bad. In fact, I believe that God wants us to use our time to glofity Him by serving our church, friends, family, and neighbors. He takes joy in that. 

But He also takes joy in our quiet, stillness, and worship. If you’re like me, I can easily forget to do these things in the midst of my tasks.

In Luke we read a story about a dinner Jesus went to where two sisters were present, Mary and Martha. Martha was busy. She was serving well. That wasn’t a bad thing, but her sister decided to pause at the feet of Jesus and just bask in His presence. Mary stopped.

“As Jesus and the disciples continued on their way to Jerusalem, they came to a certain village where a woman named Martha welcomed him into her home. Her sister, Mary, sat at the Lord’s feet, listening to what he taught. But Martha was distracted by the big dinner she was preparing. She came to Jesus and said, “Lord, doesn’t it seem unfair to you that my sister just sits here while I do all the work? Tell her to come and help me.” But the Lord said to her, “My dear Martha, you are worried and upset over all these details! There is only one thing worth being concerned about. Mary has discovered it, and it will not be taken away from her.””

‭‭Luke‬ ‭10:38-42‬ ‭NLT‬‬

Today I am questioning the motive of my heart. Martha’s serving was bringing God glory… until she chose to look down on Mary for just being with Jesus. Martha didn’t want to stop her tasks. She felt a to-do list would bring God more glory. 

Today is Easter Sunday! This is the day we get to celebrate that our Savior not only died in our place but rose again, proving that He was both fully God and man and defeating sin once and for all! 

Am I planning a meal and hosting today? Yes.

Did I help with an egg hunt this weekend? Yes.

Have I spent time helping at church? Yes. 

I have been Martha, I’m good at that. But can I just be Mary?

May holidays be less about serving and doing and more about truly thanking Jesus. May we have Mary’s heart today, tomorrow, and everyday. Let’s take this Easter to simply BE with our Savior!

Leave a Reply

